Giving Freely

This little gem is something that has taken me a while to get my head around because it doesn’t need to involve money.

If your thoughts are always about money, what you can’t afford, it’s too expensive or I would love to have that but I can’t right now, then your mind is focusing on what is lacking in your life.

Namely, you are focusing on what you don’t have rather than what you do have. Being aware of this takes practise as our thoughts come from our sub-conscious rather than our conscious mind.

In the physical world we live in, like attracts like, so if we are constantly thinking that we can’t afford things then this is what happens, our lives act out our thoughts and it confirms and re-enforces those thoughts.

Once I was aware of this crazy notion I thought I would put it to the test. Just as how I had been constantly thinking and worrying about money and it hadn’t been helping me in any way, I decided to concsiously change how I was thinking.

One of the easiest ways for me to try and get out of this bad habit and way of thinking was to start asking myself where was my life abundant and focus on that.

I came up with family, friends, love and laughter, is where I am immensely rich and that is where I was going to give freely in my life. Giving makes us feel good about ourselves and also helps others feel good too, so it is a universal win – win situation.

If I can help others with giving my time, my love, have or share fun with them, then that automatically makes me feel good and it is helping someone else, how ever that looks.

The best idea I came up with was that I wanted to give money to a certain charity and sponsor a child but financially my head was still making excuses as to why I shouldn’t commit to this or how I couldn’t afford it.

So I put it out to the universe how could I do this without feeling mean, but by having fun and giving all those things I felt rich in. The answer came to me in the shower and I told my mum about my idea. She was immediately on board.

We got together friends and family and we started a monthly Girl’s Night In. We meet monthly in each other’s houses, we have fun, catch up, sometimes we have theme nights and we just have a great little community of ladies who are closer than ever now and we raise money every month for charity and other causes.

We have been doing this for two years and what it has taught me is that I feel so much richer for giving back, because I don’t feel like I have to make sacrifices to give. We all have fun, share our homes and our time together and others benefit from us enjoying ourselves.

There are so many ways we can give back to others and you in turn will change how you start to think. If your life is full of lack or if it’s full of joy and abundance, either way your life will reflect what you think.

Go and try it, put it to the test, I dare you and let me know how it goes.

Much love & Happyness

Bernie xx

Our Girl's Nite Celebrations

One of our Girl’s Nite get togethers in 2014

 

Leave a Reply

